If you want to incorporate a corporation, Company Express will research the availability of chosen company name, prepare for you and file with the Secretary of State office all required corporate paperwork and obtain certified copy of filed documents, if it will be requested by the client. We also will appoint registered agent for your corporation, as required by the state law, and will help with many of your follow-up corporate needs such as amendment filings, written consents, and annual report preparation and filing. You can find below some of the State incorporation requirements:
Name of Tennessee corporation must be distinguishable from the name of any existing entity or other names reserved or registered with the Division of Business Services. Company Express will research your company name to make sure it meets Tennessee's standards.
Please note, that we, at Company Express, will handle all required incorporation filing for you. The following information is presented for your information only.
Required documents: Articles of Incorporation filed with the Department of State. If the corporation’s principal office is in Tennessee, a copy of the Charter must be filed with that county’s government. If the principal office is not in Tennessee, no county filing is required.
Turnaround time: About 12-17 business days.
Follow-up filings: Not required.
Minimum number: Corporations must have one or more directors as well as a president and a secretary.
Director qualifications: No provisions.
Appearance in articles: Director names and addresses are required to be listed in the Charter.
Principal office location / Registered Agent
Corporation's principal office may be located outside of the state, but local registered agent is required in Tennessee.
Time to file: Tennessee requires corporations to file both an annual report and franchise tax. The annual report is due on or before the first day of the fourth month following the close of the corporation’s fiscal year. The state filing fee is $20. The franchise tax is due the 15th day of the fourth month following the close of your books and records. The amount due is based on the corporation’s net worth or real and tangible property in Tennessee. The minimum tax due is $100.
Signatures: Only Chairman, president or company officers are authorized to sign annual reports. Emailed or faxed signatures are accepted.
Filing extensions: Not permitted.
Ready to incorporate in Tennessee? Incorporate now